Penguin Random House Authors Appearing at Comic Con 2017

The following press release shows the various authors that will be at San Diego Comic Con. It will be here soon!

DARYL GREGORY/ SPOONBENDERS/on sale from Knopf on 6/27: This is a novel about a lovable family of psychics, (think Arrested Development + telekinesis). Praised by Charles Yu as: “entertaining and moving—a perfect summer read.” SPOONBENDERS is for fans of Michael Chabon, Lev Grossman, and Emily St. John Mandel. It tells the story of a generations-spanning family of psychics–both blessed and burdened by their abilities—who must use their powers to save themselves from the CIA, the local mafia, and a skeptic hell-bent on discrediting them in this hilarious, tender, magical novel about the invisible forces that bind us.
Harnessing the imaginative powers that have made him a master storyteller, Daryl Gregory delivers a stunning, laugh-out-loud new novel about a family of gifted dreamers. Paramount has optioned this title to become a TV show produced by the teams that made Spotlight and The Walking Dead. Daryl will be speaking on a Genre-Bending panel at 1pm on 7/22 and will be doing two in booth signings at our Penguin Random House booth 1515-1.


GABE HUDSON/GORK: THE TEENAGE DRAGON/ on sale from Knopf on 7/11: A coming of age story about a dragon in high-school, filled with love, bighearted humor, and imagination. As Dave Eggers says, “ No good human won’t love this dragon named Gork”.
Gork the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be. In the words of Gary Shtyngart, “Gork, the Teenage Dragon is jam-packed with outrageous storytelling and soulful humor in the glorious American tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Mark Twain.”
GABE HUDSON is the author of Dear Mr. President, a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award and winner of the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Hudson was named one of Granta’s 20 Best of Young American Novelists. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Village Voice, McSweeney’s, Black Book, and Granta. Gabe will be speaking on a panel about writing humor on 7/20 at 3pm and will be doing two in booth signings at our Penguin Random House booth 1515-1.
SONNY LIEW/ THE ART OF CHARLIE CHAN HOCK CHYE/ Pantheon: ***Sonny Liew has been nominated for 6 Eisner Awards for this graphic novel***A brilliantly conceived graphic novel that tells the history of Singapore through the lens of its greatest–though not entirely successful–comic book artist. “A startlingly brilliant tour de force….Although the premise sounds simple—it purports to be the biography of a fictional comic book artist—what Liew does with it is anything but. At once dizzyingly meta and deeply heartfelt, the book spans 80 years, and in its complicated layering, reminded me of everything from Maus and The Tin Drum to, believe it or not, Ulysses…. Probably the greatest work of art ever produced in Singapore.” —John Powers, Fresh Air
Sonny Liew is a comics artist, painter, and illustrator whose work includes the New York Times best seller The Shadow Hero (with Gene Yang), and titles for Marvel Comics, DC’s Vertigo, and Image Comics. He has been nominated for multiple Eisner Awards for his collaborations on The Shadow Hero, Wonderland, and Liquid City, a multivolume comics anthology featuring creators from Southeast Asia. He lives and works in Singapore. Sonny will be on 4 panels at SDCC and will be doing 2 in booth signings at our Penguin Random House booth, 1515-I.
DANIEL WILSON/ CLOCKWORK DYNASTY/ on sale from Doubleday on 8/1: From the New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse comes an epic new thriller, about a race of ageless, human-like machines hiding among us for untold centuries. Daniel H. Wilson’s masterful new novel seamlessly interweaves past and present, exploring a race of beings that lives undetected among us. In this richly-drawn, heart-pounding thriller, Daniel H. Wilson expertly combines technology, exquisite characters, and breathtaking action. This is Wilson’s most sophisticated and entertaining novel to date.

DANIEL H. WILSON is the bestselling author of Robopocalypse, Robogenesis, Amped, How to Survive a Robot Uprising, Where’s My Jetpack?, How to Build a Robot Army, The Mad Scientist Hall of Fame, and Bro-Jitsu: The Martial Art of Sibling Smackdown. He was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and earned a B.S. in computer science from the University of Tulsa and a Ph.D. in robotics from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. He will be speaking on a panel about Living in the Future on 7/22 at 3pm and will be doing an in booth signing at our Penguin Random House Booth 1515-I.
AMATKA/ Karin Tidbeck/ on sale from Vintage on 6/27: A surreal and shockingly original debut novel set in a dystopian world shaped by language–literally. Vanja, a government worker, leaves her home city of Essre for the austere, wintry colony of Amatka on a research assignment. It takes some adjusting: people act differently in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion.
Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja finds herself falling in love with her housemate, Nina, and decides to stick around. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony and a cover-up by its administration, she begins an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.

In Karin Tidbeck’s dystopic imagining, language has the power to shape reality. Unless objects, buildings, and the surrounding landscape are repeatedly named, and named properly, everything will fall apart. Trapped in the repressive colony, Vanja dreams of using language to break free, but her individualism may well threaten the very fabric of reality. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by an idiosyncratic new voice. Karin Tidbeck is originally from Stockholm, Sweden. She lives and works in Malmö as a freelance writer, translator, and creative-writing teacher, and writes fiction in Swedish and English.

Karin will be speaking on a panel about Living in the Future on 7/22 at 3pm and will be doing an in booth signing at our Penguin Random House booth, 1515-I.
CHRISTOPHER RICE/ RAMSES THE DAMNED/ on sale from Vintage on 11/21: Christopher is the son of Anne Rice and his new book, RAMSES THE DAMNED, was written with her. The tale of Ramses the Great continues . . . A glorious, fantastical romp of ancient times and the Edwardian age–set in 1914, that began with Anne Rice’s extravagant and compelling bestselling saga, The Mummy, and continues with this long-awaited new novel in the Ramses series.
Christopher Rice is the author of twelve books. He lives in West Hollywood, California. Chris will be moderating a panel on Living in the Future on 7/22 at 3pm and will be doing an in booth signing at our Penguin Random House Booth, 1515-I.

Share

Leave a Reply