Comic-Con 2011 Press Release-Eisner Hall of Fame Nominees

The Eisner Awards judges have selected four individuals to automatically be inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame this summer. These inductees are Ernie Bushmiller, cartoonist on the Nancynewspaper strip for nearly 50 years; Jack Jackson (Jaxon), pioneer underground cartoonist (co-founder of Ripoff Press) and graphic novelist (Commanche Moon); Marty Nodell, Golden Age artist best known as the co-creator of Green Lantern; and Lynd Ward, woodcut artist hailed as a pioneer of the graphic novel (God’s Man).

Past judges have selected two automatic inductees, but this year that number has been expanded to four. “The judges felt that some significant contributors to comics’ history were being consistently overlooked by the regular voters,” notes Jackie Estrada, the Eisner Awards Administrator. “Choosing only two creators to induct was proving too difficult this year. The solution they chose was to single out individuals from four aspects of the medium.”

The judges have also chosen 14 nominees from which voters will select 4 to be inducted in the Hall of Fame for 2011. These nominees are Bill BlackbeardChris ClaremontKim Deitch,Rudolph DirksMort DruckerJenette KahnGeorge McManusDennis O’Neil,Harvey PekarCliff SterrettRoy Thomas,Rodolphe TöpfferGeorge Tuska, and Marv Wolfman. See below for complete bios.

Online voting is now open


To vote, you must be a professional working in the comics or related industries, as a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher an editor, a retailer (comics store owner or manager), a graphic novels librarian, or a comics historian/educator. Eligible voters can visit to register and then select up to four picks in the Hall of Fame category. The deadline for voting is March 25. Further eligibility information is provided on the Eisner Awards page.

For more information and for the full press release: Comic-Con 2011 :: Press Release.

Leave a Reply